Dangerous Rhymes | Mosquito Records London | Ike Moriz

Dangerous Rhymes - Lyric collection

Dangerous Rhymes Cover web

Book cover photo by Madri le Roux, cover art by Lars Pestrup and design by Ike Moriz  ©℗2020 Mosquito Records London (PTY) Ltd.


Release date: 11.09.2020 - Amazon, Blurb, Apple

  • Paperback : 128 pages
  • ISBN-13 : 979-8689496825
  • Publisher : Mosquito Records London Pty Ltd. (11 Sept. 2020)
  • Product Dimensions : 15.24 x 0.79 x 22.86 cm (paperback)
  • Other formats: Amazon kindle, eBook, pdf, Apple iBook
  • Language: : English
  • Worldcat/OCLC no: 1260128637 (2nd edition, print book)

Mosquito Records London PTY Ltd proudly presents a collection of 89 original poems and lyrics by singer, songwriter and actor Ike Moriz from the past two decades. Here you will find all your favourite Moriz song lyrics in poem form from his very first hit singles 'Fall Into The Sun’ (2002) or 'Play Me’ (2005) to songs like 'Dangerous Rhymes' or 'City Lights' from his latest album release 'Dragons’ (2020). The collection also includes a number of previously unreleased poems like 'All In All, Hunky Dory’, 'Love And Fear’, ‘Oblivion’ and 'Nightflight'. 

Moriz, who has been a hobby photographer since his early childhood days, also contributed a selection of his own photographs that he felt would complement the message of his poetry. They depict some of the most beautiful landscapes the Western Cape (South Africa) has to offer. Moriz's picture of 'Ike’s Thumb’, a rock formation on Chapman’s Peak mountain in Hout Bay that is named after the singer, can be found on page 91, paired with the lyrics to his 2008 song 'I’ll Be Your Man’. 

Other snapshots from the singer’s music career show him and other band members during their many live performances and tours all over the world. 

On the whole, this book is an elegant presentation of words and visuals, offering a different perspective of the author’s creative output and career since starting out in London in 1999.

"This cat writes a fine tune" (FHM, SA); "Huge pop arrangements and songs with giant gold hooks" (Amazon, UK); "His rock/indie sound is acoustic and edgy (Cosmopolitan, SA); "Upbeat & uplifting, strong vocals & timeless melodies” (The New Age, SA); "The Crown Jewel of South Africa” (IAE Magazine, Atlanta, USA)

For more information, promo requests or to set up an interview, please contact Madri le Roux (+27(0)824143180 / madri@mosquitorecords.co.za).

Poems and lyrics book-index: 

A Billion Worlds, 31

All Around The World, 87

All In All, Hunky Dory, 40

All Your Heroes Are Dead, 85

Always You (Samsara), 88-89

Angie Blue (in German), 122

Angie Blue, 58

Another Day, 103

Another Me And You, 83

Anything You Want, 86

Apollo, 61

Atlantis, 62

Autumn Moon, 54

Bite The Dog, 120-121

Breathing Dreams, 84

City Lights, 12

Dangerous Rhymes, 14-15

Day By Day (Ride This Crazy Life), 53

Demian, 63

Disillusion Blues, 44

Dollar Bill Persistence Resistance, 26

Dragon, 18-19

Drowning (In London Town), 109

Dull Blue Eyes, 119

Evacuate Me, 116

Every Time The Sun, 98

Fake Fatale, 107

Fall Into The Sun, 104

Feels Like France, 37

Flame Blue, 105

Forevermore, 43

Forgotten, 25

Gold Rush, 29

Heroes In Red, 28

Hey, Hey-Hey, Hey, 94

Hold My Breath, 81

I Feel Real, 95

I'll Be Your Man, 90-91

In Every Place, 80

It's Our Universe, 13

Killing Games, 93

Lawless, 32

Light Is Dark, 96

Light Of Love, 36

Love And Fear, 39

Love Swings, 38

Mirrors And Shade, 100

Night Flight, 117

No Matter What You Do, 24

Not About You / Es Geht Nicht Um Dich (in German), 71

Not About You, 58

Not Involved, 112-113

Oblivion, 110

On Our Way, 23

Our Gold, 106

Peace Dream, 118

Petite Madeleine, 35

Play Me, 97

Riding On The Storm, 22

Right Then, 60

Sci-fi Lullaby 114-115

See You In The Night, 57

See Your Light, 20-21

Since That Day, 52

Siren Terpsichore, 50

Slow Down, 16

Smooth And Nice, 48

Sofia, 34

Sound Apocalypse, 17

Starry Night, 99

Still / Noch Immer (in German), 70

Still, 101

Sweet, Sweet Jane, 55

The Devil Is Real In Your Mind, 46

The Sad Songs, 111

These Eyes Are Not Yours, 41

Think I'm A Millionaire, 45

This Could Be Love, 49

To Cape Town, 47

Tuscany, 30

Until Their Lights Are Out (Alien Blues), 42

Visionary, 108

Watching The Sun, 92

White Baboons, (The Journey Of The), 82

Wishful, 26

You Could, 102

You Just Need To Go, 51

You'll Have Your Way, 56

You're Always Late, 33

©℗ 2020 Eike Moriz. Mosquito Records London (Pty) Ltd; All poems and lyrics written by Eike Moriz. All nature photography by Eike Moriz. All other photographs credited within the book.



© 2002-2023 Mosquito Records London (PTY) Ltd.